In all cases, you can tell when an email is fake because the links DO NOT go to vWorker but go some place else (in this case, the hacker's website: http://clusiuserf31.nl/vworker/ ). It's very important to NEVER assume that an email you receive from vWorker (or any site) is real. That's because email is not secure and any person can impersonate any other email address at will. Instead, always look at the link in your browser address bar. If it takes you to www.vWorker.com then you are okay. (Or, if it's an email that send you to a blog posting and sends you to one of the legitimate blog sites: vworkernews.com, vWorkerchanges.com, vWorkerOutages.com). If it says anything else, then don't type in your credentials and instead report it.
More information:
1) Thanks:
Thanks to those users who reported this issue. We appreciate you letting us know so we inform others. In addition to notifying all site users on every page of the site, we've also sent out an email as well. We have also reported this issue to the user's ISP and have asked them to involve law enforcement to press criminal charges. If anyone has additional information about the identity of the phisher, please let us know so we can pass that on as well.
2) I got fooled. What do I do?
Immediately change your email address and password. If anything has happened in your account without your permission then notify us to correct us.
2) How did the phisher get the email addresses? Were you hacked?
First, we never assume that we were not hacked, because no system is 100% secure and it's always possible. However, we also currently have no evidence that we were hacked. The site is audited every quarter by a 3rd party security firm (SecurityMetrics) and that firm has found no holes in the system and has certified it as secure. Further, everything the phisher has done can be done without hacking the site's systems.
There are several legitimate ways to get email addresses from other parties on the site that do not involve hacking. This phisher appears to have once been a legitimate user on the site who went "rogue" and used techniques that other have before. Some tips regarding this:
2a) Protect your contact info release:
If you received this email and have chosen to release your contact information to the other party automatically on $500+ projects, you may wish to turn that feature off. It can be useful, but is also subject to abuse as well.
2b) Be careful what you post publicly:It's also important to be careful what you post publicly in your profile and messages to people. You don't have to post your email address directly to have it harvested. One competitor "harvested" the email addresses of many of our users by using their public profile information to figure out their website URLs (using city, location, screen name, and other information given there). Then they grabbed their contact information from what the user listed on the website or their website's WHOIS. Unfortunately in this day and age we are very interconnected and there may be no 100% way to safeguard against this sort of tactic.
2c) Switch to an email provider that uses enhanced security (SPF):
Some email providers (such as Gmail) use an enhanced security method called SPF that validates that the email came from the place it claimed to. This blocks phishing emails (or flags them as suspicious). We highly recommend switching to one of these providers or telling your email provider to add it (if they don't).
3) Okay, I understand but I'm still concerned. How do I know this phisher somehow didn't break into vWorker and steal my password and/or change my financials?
If they already had your password, the phisher would not need to setup this elaborate scheme to try to steal it. The same applies to access to your financials.
However, if the phisher succeeded in tricking you to give them your userid and password, then they could compromise your financials. See above on how to deal with this.
4) What do they look like?
A copy of one of the emails (phishing hyperlinks have been removed for your protection). Update January 24th: the link below has now been removed by the ISP (Carpathia Hosting) and is no longer available).
Hi,
I'm Julia Robertson and I'm a vWorker.com Facilitator. My job is to watch over the bids and projects and shepherd them as they go to completion. You have some information missing from your vWorker account and I have to ask you to update your contact details, otherwise your account and your funds will be frozen. Follow this link: Update contact details. Sincerely, Julia Robertson ============================================ vWorker.com Facilitator www.vWorker.com.com Need to outsource your software development? Post your project and receive an average of 12.4 bids within 24 hours! Contact a facilitator / Ask questions: http:///RentACoder/misc/Feedback.asp P: (813) 908-9029 F: (813) 960-1495 Exhedra Solutions, Inc. ============================================ |
|
4b) Copy of the 2nd variation:
Hi,
I'm Julia Robertson and I'm a vWorker.com Facilitator. You have won our prize of the month: $150 to use on our website.
To use the funds you must complete a simple form, where you have to talk about our website. Take me to vWorker.
Sincerely,
Julia Robertson
Subscribe to the vWorker Latest News Blog through RSS or email. Visit vWorker.com.
© 2001-2011 Exhedra Solutions, Inc.





